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ANIMALS

Pet Shop Licensees

A new law requires the agriculture
commissioner to develop a standard of
care applicable to in-state dog and cat
breeders. It also (1) prohibits pet shop
licensees from purchasing or selling
dogs or cats from breeders who have
violated U.S. Department of Agriculture
(USDA) animal welfare regulations and
increases the fine for violating related
requirements, (2) increases the amount
of money a pet shop licensee must
reimburse a customer for veterinarian
expenses incurred to treat a dog or cat
that becomes ill shortly after purchase
from the shop, and (3) requires a pet
shop licensee to post certain USDA
inspection reports for breeders of any
dog offered for sale.

(sSB 445, effective October 1, 2014)
BANKS

Optional Foreclosure Method

A new law establishes an optional
foreclosure method for certain
residential properties, called
“foreclosure by market sale,” which is a
court-approved sale on the open market
upon the mortgagee’s (lender’s) request
and with the mortgagor’s (borrower’s)
consent. The law establishes industry
and court procedures for this option,
including a process that allows
subordinate lienholders to preserve
their interests in the property. It also
exempts the transfer of property sold

through the foreclosure by market sale
method from real estate conveyance
tax.

(sHB 5514 and HB 5597, §§ 207 &
249, effective January 1, 2015)

Sales and Use Tax Exemption

A new law, beginning July 1, 2016,
exempts sales of goods or services to
Connecticut credit unions from the sales
and use tax. A Connecticut credit union
is a credit union that (1) is a
cooperative, nonprofit financial
institution organized under, and the
membership of which is limited by,
Connecticut law; (2) operates for the
benefit and general welfare of its
members with the earnings, benefits, or
services offered being distributed to, or
retained for, its members; and (3) is
governed by a volunteer board of
directors elected by and from its
membership. Sales to federally
chartered credit unions are already
exempt from the Connecticut sales and
use tax.

(HB 5597, § 196, effective July 1,
2016, and applicable to sales occurring
on or after that date)

BIENNIAL BUDGET

Revised FY 15 Budget

Budget Balance. The original FY 15
budget contained a $3.1 million General
Fund balance. The revised budget
reduces that balance to $0.4 million.
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Budget Growth. Original FY 15 budget
appropriations grew over original FY 14
appropriations by 1.8% in the General
Fund (2.1% all funds). The revised
budget has a growth rate of 2.0% in the
General Fund (2.5% all funds) when
comparing FY 15 revised appropriations
to FY 14 estimated expenditures.

Spending Cap. The revised budget is
under the spending cap by $25.9
million. Compared to the original FY 15
budget, it reduces room under the
spending cap by $9 million in FY 14 and
$140.3 million in FY 15. Of the change
in FY 15, $34.2 million is due to
spending changes and $106.1 million is
due to a reduction in the allowable
growth rate.

FY 14 Surplus/Budget Reserve Fund
(BRF). The FY 15 revised budget
carries forward $6.5 million in FY 14
funding for use in FY 15. Of this
amount, $5.2 million reduces the
estimated surplus in FY 14 to $41.9
million. The remainder of the surplus,
pending any additional carry forwards
authorized within the Office of Policy
and Management’s (OPM) statutory
authority, would result in a
corresponding deposit to the BRF. As a
result, the balance in the BRF would
increase from $270.7 million to $312.6
million.

New Positions. The revised budget
adds 490 positions and approximately
$38.8 million (all funds) across various
agencies.

Town Aid. The revised budget
increases funding for town aid by $55.8
million over the original FY 15 budget.
Included in this is $21.1 million for
property tax relief and $18.7 million for
education.

Lapse (Bottom-Line) Reductions.
The revised budget reduces the total
amount of lapses by a net $26.4 million.
However, it distributes $25 million of
the lapses into agency budgets based
on prior year distributions resulting in
an overall net decrease of $1.4 million
in lapse-related reductions.

Revenue

The budget includes various policy
changes that yield a net revenue
increase of $54.5 million in FY 15. This
includes total decreases in taxes of
$22.8 million and a net increase in
taxes of $86.5 million, of which $75
million is related to a tax collection
initiative.

Also included are reductions in other
revenue categories of $45.7 million and
increases in other sources of revenue of
$36.6 million.

The budget act makes various state tax
and revenue changes. Among these
changes, the act exempts (1) a portion
of state teachers’ retirement system
income from the income tax (10% for
the 2015 tax year, 25% for 2016, and
50% for 2017 and subsequent tax
years); (2) admissions charges for
events held at the XL Center in Hartford
and Webster Bank Arena in Bridgeport
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from the 10% admissions tax; and (3)
nonprescription drugs and medicines
from the sales and use tax beginning
April 1, 2015. It (1) delays, from June
1, 2015 to July 1, 2015, the effective
date of a sales and use tax exemption
on clothing and footwear costing less
than $50 and (2) directs $12.7 million
in sales and use tax payments for FY 15
to OPM to distribute to municipalities
according to a specified municipal
revenue sharing formula.

The act also (1) repeals the
authorization for the state to operate
keno as a lottery game and (2) extends
the sunset date for the angel investor
tax credit program.

(PA 14-47 and HB 5597, various
effective dates)

BONDING

The original FY 15 capital budget
provided $2,026.1 million in General
Obligation (GO) bonds and $588.7
million in Special Tax Obligation (STO)
bonds. The 2014 revisions to the capital
budget provide a net total of $781.4
million in GO bonds (a 39% increase)
and $17.6 million in STO bonds (a 3%
increase). The revisions move the state
closer to the statutory bond cap on GO
bonds by 6.5%, from 80.2% to 86.7%.

The bond act authorizes $968.7 million
in new GO bonds between FY 14 and FY
24 for various state capital projects and

grant programs and cancels $33.8
million in previously authorized GO
bonds. The new authorizations include:

1. $25 million for the Department of
Housing’s Shoreline Resiliency Fund,

2. $50 million for enhancements and
upgrades to the state’s CORE
financial system,

3. $30 million for the Connecticut
Manufacturing Innovation Fund,

4. $40 million over four years for the
Regenerative Medicine Research
Fund,

5. $105 million over 10 years for the
Connecticut Smart Start competitive
grant program,

6. $80 million for the Urban Action
program,

7. $100 million for the Manufacturing
Assistance Act program,

8. $103.5 million over two years for the
Connecticut State Colleges and
Universities 2020 program,

9. $30 million for OPM’s nonprofit grant
program, and

10. $22 million for the competitive
school security grant program.

The act authorizes $77.6 million in new
STO bonds in FY 15 for transportation
projects, including $10 million for the
Department of Transportation’s (DOT)
local bridge program and $42.5 million
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for bus and rail facilities and equipment.
The act also cancels $60 million in
previously authorized STO bonds.

(sSB 29, various effective dates)
BUSINESS AND JOBS

Benefit Corporations

A new law provides the necessary legal
framework for establishing and
operating for-profit businesses that
seek to produce social benefits while
increasing value for their shareholders
(b-corps). Among other things, it
specifically requires a b-corp’s board of
directors to consider certain interests
and constituencies besides
shareholders’ financial interests when
making decisions.

(HB 5597, §§ 140-157, effective
October 1, 2014)

Connecticut Manufacturing
Innovation Fund

Another new law creates the
Connecticut Manufacturing Innovation
Fund to provide manufacturers and
researchers in aerospace, medical
devices, and other targeted industries’
supply chains with financing to, among
other things, expand facilities, develop
products, and match research grants. It
establishes an 11-member advisory
board to oversee the fund and requires
the Department of Economic
Development (DECD) to administer the
fund. It also authorizes up to $30
million in GO bonds for the fund in order

to provide grants, loans, and
investments to eligible businesses or
nonprofits.

(sSB 29, §8§ 47-49, effective upon
passage)

Investing in Connecticut’s
Manufacturing Industries

Under a new law, large manufacturers
with unclaimed research and
development tax credits qualify for tax
refunds, tax offsets, or other
compensation for spending at least
$100 million over five years on projects
constructing or expanding facilities,
purchasing machines and equipment,
researching and developing new
products and techniques, and hiring and
training.

Manufacturers must submit proposed
projects to DECD for certification. The
amount a manufacturer spends on a
project, among other factors,
determines the amount of
compensation.

(PA _14-2, effective upon passage)

Minimum Wage Increase

A new law increases the hourly
minimum wage from $8.70 to $9.15 on
January 1, 2015; to $9.60 on January

1, 2016; and to $10.10 on January 1,
2017. It does not change the “tip credit”
allowed by law. Thus, it will
automatically increase the employer’s
share of minimum wages for (1) hotel
and wait staff from $5.69 to $5.78 in
2015, $6.07 in 2016, and $6.38 in 2017
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and (2) bartenders from $7.34 to $7.46
in 2015, $7.82 in 2016, and $8.23 in
2017.

(PA 14-1, effective July 1, 2014)

Public Retirement Plan

A new law establishes the Connecticut
Retirement Security Board and requires
it to (1) conduct a market feasibility
study on implementing a public
retirement plan and (2) develop a
comprehensive proposal for
implementing the plan. Among other
things, the proposed plan must allow
private sector employees to have a
portion of their wages automatically
deposited into state-administered
individual retirement accounts with a
guaranteed rate of return.

(HB 5597, §§ 180-185, effective July
1, 2014)

Regenerative Medicine Research
Fund

The legislature broadened the scope of
the existing Stem Cell Research Fund to
include regenerative medicine research
and renamed the fund accordingly. It
(1) authorized up to $10 million in GO
bonds each year from FY 16 to FY 19;
(2) shifted the responsibility for
administering the fund from the
Department of Public Health (DPH) to
Connecticut Innovations, Inc., the
state’s quasi-public economic
development agency; and (3) retained
the existing advisory committee, but

changed the members’ required
qualifications to reflect the inclusion of
regenerative medicine research.

(sSB 29, §8§ 22 &23, 32-40, & 88,
effective October 1, 2014, except that
the provision authorizing new bonds for
the fund takes effect July 1, 2015 and
other provisions take effect July 1,
2014)

CHILDREN AND FAMILIES

Birth Certificates

A new law expands certain adoptees’
access to their original birth certificates.
It requires DPH to give adopted
individuals at least age 18 whose
adoptions were finalized on or after
October 1, 1983, or their adult children
or grandchildren, uncertified copies of
the adoptee’s original birth certificate
on request. This requirement applies
starting July 1, 2015. Prior law barred
access to such original birth certificates
without a probate court order.

The act makes certain changes to the
process for people adopted before
October 1, 1983, or other authorized
applicants, to request the original birth
certificate through a court order. It also
creates a voluntary procedure for
biological parents to complete a
Department of Children and Families
(DCF) form indicating whether they
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want to be contacted by their adopted
adult children or the adoptees’ adult
children or grandchildren.

(sHB 5144, most provisions take effect
July 1, 2015)

Concussion Prevention and
Sudden Cardiac Arrest
Awareness

The legislature passed two laws aimed
at increasing awareness and prevention
of injuries and illnesses among student
athletes. The laws deal with concussions
and sudden cardiac arrest. Both laws
require students’ parents or guardians
to give their written consent before
schools can allow the student to take
part in an athletic activity.

The law on concussions requires
coaches or other qualified school
employees to notify a parent or
guardian when a student is removed
from play for a concussion or suspected
concussion. It also requires the state
Board of Education (SBE) to develop a
concussion education plan that athletes
and their parents must complete before
the athlete can participate in school
sports.

The sudden cardiac arrest law requires
SBE to develop a sudden cardiac arrest
awareness program and, starting with
the July 1, 2015 school year, coaches to
annually review the program before
beginning their coaching assignments.

(Concussions, PA 14-66, effective July
1, 2014; Sudden Cardiac Arrest, sSB
229, effective October 1, 2014)

Guardians Ad Litem and
Attorneys for Minor Children in
Family Matters

A new law makes several modifications
to laws related to the appointment of
guardians ad litem (GALs) and counsels
for minor children (CMC). Among other
things, it:

1. establishes new procedures for
courts to follow when appointing
GALs and CMCs in family relations
and other matters;

2. allows parties to (a) request the
appointment of a specific GAL or
CMC, with a written agreement, or
(b) choose one from a list of 15
provided by the court;

3. requires the court to include in its
orders, the GAL's or CMC's fee
schedule and a proposed schedule
for periodic court review;

4. requires GALs and CMCs to file an
affidavit with the court on the hours
and expenses billed which must
become a part of the case file;

5. allows parties, in certain cases, to
file a motion to seek removal of a
GAL or CMC;

6. establishes new compensation
requirements, including the
calculation of fees on a sliding-scale
basis; and

7. requires the Judicial Branch to
develop a (a) GAL and CMC
professional code of conduct and (b)
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publication on GALs’ and CMCs’ roles
and responsibilities in family
relations matters.

(PA_14-3, effective October 1, 2014,
except for provisions on the (1) Judicial
Branch’s publication, which is effective
July 1, 2014 and (2) GAL and CMC
professional code of conduct, which is
effective upon passage)

Human Trafficking Victims

This law expands the actions DCF can
take to help children it identifies or
believes are victims of trafficking to
include (1) providing services, (2)
forming multidisciplinary teams to
review trafficking cases, and (3)
providing training to law enforcement
officers about trafficking. It additionally
expands the category of children a court
may find to be “uncared for” to include
child-trafficking victims.

(sHB 5040, effective October 1, 2014)

Mandated Reporters

A new law expands the mandated
reporter list to include any paid youth
camp director or assistant director and
any person age 18 or older who is a
paid (1) youth athletics coach or
director; (2) private youth sports
organization, league, or team coach or
director; or (3) administrator, faculty,
or staff member, athletic coach,
director, or trainer employed by a public
or private higher education institution,
excluding student employees.

(sHB 5040, effective October 1, 2014)

Sale of Electronic Cigarettes to
Minors

The legislature made it illegal for a
minor (under age 18) to buy or possess
in public an “electronic nicotine delivery
system” or “vapor product” (“e-
cigarettes”) and for anyone to sell, give,
or deliver one to a minor. The new law
subjects violators to some of the same
penalties existing law already imposes
on those who commit similar violations
regarding tobacco cigarettes.

It also tightens the law pertaining to the
sale of tobacco cigarettes to minors by
extending the look-back period for
determining if a prior offense occurred
from 18 to 24 months. At the same
time, it makes this law more lenient for
first offenders by waiving the civil
penalty for those who successfully
complete an online tobacco education
course.

(sSB 24, effective October 1, 2014)

State-Wide Sexual Abuse and
Assault Awareness Program

The legislature enacted a law that
requires, by July 1, 2015, DCF, together
with the state Department of Education
(SDE) and Connecticut Sexual Assault
Crisis Services, Inc., or a similar
organization, to identify or develop a
statewide sexual abuse and assault
awareness and prevention program for
use by regional and local school boards.
The school boards must implement the
program by October 1, 2015.

(sSB 203, effective July 1, 2014)
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CONSUMER PROTECTION

Pharmacies

A new law makes several changes to
the state’s pharmacy laws. Generally, it
gives the Department of Consumer
Protection (DCP) more oversight over
sterile compounding pharmacies and
requires these pharmacies to comply
with the latest relevant pharmacopeia
standards. It bans the sale and delivery
of certain counterfeit substances not
already covered by existing law and
grants DCP additional investigatory and
enforcement authority. It also broadens
the categories of nonresident
pharmacies that must register in
Connecticut and comply with pharmacy
reporting requirements. Finally, the new
law establishes procedures for
prescribing practitioners and
pharmacists when dispensing drugs that
cannot be substituted with a generic
version.

(sHB 5262, effective July 1, 2014)
CRIMINAL JUSTICE

Civil Protection Orders

A new law allows the Superior Court to
issue civil protection orders to an
applicant who (1) is a victim of sexual
abuse, sexual assault, or 1st, 2nd, or
3rd degree stalking; (2) has not
obtained any other court order of
protection arising out of the abuse,
assault, or stalking; and (3) does not
qualify for relief under a civil restraining
order, which is limited to family and
household members. The new law

makes criminal violation of a civil
protection order a class D felony
punishable by up to five years in prison,
a fine of up to $5,000, or both. It also
expands the chief court administrator’s
automated protective orders registry to
include civil protection orders.

(HB 5597, §8§ 186-190, effective
January 1, 2015)

Civil Restraining Orders -
Financial Orders

A new law broadens the measures that
the court, under certain circumstances,
may include in a civil restraining order
(which are civil orders available to
family and household members who are
victims of certain types of abuse or
threats). Under the law, the court may,
for example, issue an order (1)
prohibiting the respondent from taking
any action that could result in shutting
off necessary utility services or (2)
requiring the respondent to make rent
or mortgage payments on the family
home. The law increases the penalty for
criminal violation of a civil restraining
order from a class D felony to class C
felony when the violation involves (1)
imposing any restraint on the person or
the person’s liberty or (2) threatening,
harassing, and assaulting the person. A
class C felony is punishable by up to 10
years in prison, a fine of up to $10,000,
or both. It also establishes a task force
to study service of restraining orders
that pertain to family and household
members.

May 13, 2014

Page 9 of 23

2014-R-0138


http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5262&which_year=2014
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=5597&which_year=2014

(HB 5597, §8§ 120-129, effective
January 1, 2015, except for the task
force provision, which is effective upon
passage)

Domestic Violence, Sexual
Assault, and Teen Dating
Violence

A new law makes numerous changes to
the various laws that govern family
violence, domestic violence, sexual
assault, and dating violence. It:

1. imposes a mandatory minimum
penalty for sexual assault in spousal
or cohabiting relationships;

2. expands the circumstances under
which the court may issue a standing
criminal protective order;

3. makes it a crime to maliciously
reveal the confidential location of an
emergency shelter;

4. requires the chief court
administrator to (a) ensure that the
Judicial Branch’s training program
includes information on the unique
characteristics of family violence
crimes and (b) allow one or more
family violence victim advocates to
provide services to victims of
domestic violence in the Superior
Court’s family division; and

5. requires local and regional boards of
education, as well as the SDE, to
address teen dating violence in
schools in the same way that
existing law requires them to
address bullying.

(HB 5593 and HB 5597, § 191, most
provisions take effective October 1,
2014)

Warrants to Use GPS Tracking
and for Out-of-State Data

A new law requires police to get a
warrant from a judge in order to install
a tracking device (like GPS) to track
someone. The police must have
probable cause that the person has or
will commit a crime. The law sets
procedures to apply for and obtain the
warrant that are similar to those for
other warrants. The warrant can
authorize the officer to install the device
within 10 days and collect data through
the device for up to 30 days after
installation (a judge can extend this
period for 30 more days).

The same new law also allows a judge
to issue a warrant for records or data
possessed by an out-of-state entity that
does business in Connecticut (such as
those that provide electronic
communication and remote computing
services).

(sHB 5586, effective October 1, 2014)
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE

Ignition Interlock Devices (IID)

A new law makes a number of changes
affecting driving under the influence,
drivers’ license suspensions, and IID
requirements. It reduces the various
license suspension periods for
administrative per se violations to 45
days, but imposes ignition interlock
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requirements after the suspension ends.
The IID requirement ranges from six
months to three years, depending on
certain factors (such as whether it is a
first or subsequent suspension).

Among other things, the act also (1)
eliminates the 90-day waiting period for
a special operator’s permit for a first
administrative per se violation of
refusing to submit to a blood alcohol
content test and (2) potentially extends
the required license suspension period
for someone who fails to use an IID as
required.

(sSB 465, effective July 1, 2015)
EDUCATION AND SCHOOLS

Creating the Office of Early
Childhood

This law creates the Office of Early
Childhood (OEC) as the lead agency for
the early care and education of young
children. It makes it responsible for
administering the early childhood
programs previously administered by
the departments of Education, Social
Services, and Public Health. Previously,
this office existed under the 2013
budget act and Executive Order No. 35
(June 24, 2013). The new law creates
the office in statute with all the
necessary powers and the authority of a
state department.

The new law assigns to OEC a number

of major programs and duties, most of
which were already OEC’s responsibility
under the executive order.

(PA_14-39, effective upon passage for
the creation of OEC, and July 1, 2014
for the transfer of programs)

EpiPen Storage and
Administration

A new law requires schools to designate
and train nonmedical staff to administer
emergency epinephrine in cartridge
injectors (“EpiPens”) to students having
allergic reactions who were not
previously known to have serious
allergies. It authorizes the emergency
use of EpiPens by nonmedical staff only
if (1) the school nurse is not present or
available and (2) certain conditions are
met.

The law requires qualified school
employees, selected by the school nurse
or principal, to be trained and
authorized in EpiPen administration. It
also requires schools to (1) have at
least one qualified professional on the
school grounds during regular school
hours and (2) maintain a stock of
EpiPens for emergency use.

(sHB 5521, effective July 1, 2014)

Preschool Programs

This session, the legislature passed laws
to create new grants encouraging (1)
local and regional boards of education
to create new preschool programs and
(2) towns and regional school readiness
councils to create new preschool seats
in existing school readiness programs.
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Smart Start. The legislature created
the Connecticut Smart Start competitive
grant program, to be designed and
administered by OEC in consultation
with SDE, to reimburse boards of
education with capital and operating
grants for expenses related to
establishing or expanding a preschool
program. From FY 15 to FY 24, boards
may receive (1) a capital grant of up to
$75,000 per classroom to renovate an
existing public school to accommodate
or expand a preschool program and (2)
an annual grant for operating expenses,
either in an amount up to (a) $5,000
per child served by the program or (b)
$75,000 per classroom, for a period of
five years, as long as the program
continues to meet standards established
by the OEC commissioner. No town may
receive more than $300,000 in Smart
Start grants annually, and boards may
apply for grant renewal after the five-
year period expires.

The OEC commissioner must review
Smart Start applications and award
grants to boards that (1) demonstrate
the greatest need for preschool
establishment or expansion and (2)
allocate a minimum percentage of
spaces to children who are from low
income families or eligible for free and
reduced-price lunches.

Another new law funds Smart Start
using $10 million per year from the
Tobacco Settlement Fund for operating

grants to municipalities and $105
million in bond authorizations for capital
grants over 10 years.

(PA 14-41, sSB 29, § 25, and HB
5597, § 138, effective July 1, 2014)

School Readiness. The legislature
required OEC to create a new school
readiness grant to enable towns and
regional school readiness councils to (1)
start up new school readiness
classrooms and (2) provide spaces to
eligible children in school readiness
programs that are accredited or seeking
accreditation. The budget funds 1,020
new spaces for this grant in FY 15.

(PA 14-39, § 582, effective July 1,
2014)

Safe School Climate Plans

A new law requires SDE to approve or
reject a local or regional board of
education’s safe school climate plan
(each board’s mandatory anti-bullying
policy) within 30 days of receiving it
and, in the event it is rejected, requires
the board to resubmit the plan for
approval. The new law specifies other
related steps that SDE and the local or
regional board must take whether the
plan is approved or rejected. Under the
law, only boards that have not
previously had plans approved must
submit them.

Prior law required boards of education

to use surveys to collect information on
bullying prevention and intervention in
school as part of their school climate
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assessment. This law also specifies that
districts must (1) use a survey that
contains uniform grade-level
appropriate questions to collect student
perspectives and opinions about their
school climate and (2) allow students to
anonymously complete and submit the
assessments and surveys.

(sHB 5564, effective upon passage)

School Security Infrastructure
Grant Program

The state’s competitive school security
grant program reimburses towns for
certain expenses they incur in
improving their school security
infrastructure. A new law expands the
program and increases its bond
authorization from $15 million to $37
million. The new law expands the
program beginning in FY 15 to include
Regional Educational Service Centers,
state charter schools, technical high
schools, private schools, and endowed
academies (i.e., Gilbert School, Norwich
Free Academy, and Woodstock
Academy).

The new law also expands the security
infrastructure eligible for
reimbursement to include additional
types of communications and
multimedia sharing infrastructure.

(sSB 29, effective upon passage,
except for the bond authorization, which
is effective July 1, 2014)

Sheff v. O’Neill - 2013
Stipulation

A new law contains numerous
provisions intended to carry out the
newest phase of Sheff v. O’Neill, the
ongoing Hartford school desegregation
court case. In December 2013, the
state and the Sheff plaintiffs reached a
new agreement regarding additional
efforts to integrate Hartford schools. It
was formalized in court as a stipulation
and order. The stipulation requires the
state to take numerous steps which the
new law authorizes and the budget act
funds.

The new law creates (1) a program for
the Hartford school district to receive an
annual $750,000 grant to convert an
existing neighborhood school into a
Sheff lighthouse school, which is a
school with program enhancements,
and (2) a grant of up to $250,000 to
the Hartford school district for program
development and expansion of the Dr.
Joseph S. Renzulli Gifted and Talented
Academy. It also authorizes SDE to pay
a school construction reimbursement
rate of 95%, rather than the standard
80%, for three Capitol Region Education
Council (CREC) magnet school
construction projects that are part of
Sheff. Furthermore, SDE is authorized
to pay the local share of these three
projects (i.e., the remaining 5%).
Normally, towns and school districts
must pay a share of school construction
costs. The new law also exempts CREC
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from lien or repayment of capital
startup cost grants for two other
projects.

The new law revises the definition of
racial diversity under the interdistrict
magnet school law as it applies to Sheff.
Under the new law, Asians, Alaskan
Natives, Native Americans, and Pacific
Islanders will not be counted as racial
minorities, but will count as non-
minorities. This makes it easier to reach
the racial goals of Sheff because some
students who used to count as minority
will now count as non-minority.

(HB 5597, §§ 89-106, effective July 1,
2014 except the increased school
construction reimbursement rate capital
startup cost forgiveness is effective
upon passage; PA 14-47, effective July
1, 2014)

ENERGY AND UTILITIES

Consumer Protections

New legislation makes several changes
to laws regulating the electricity market
for residential customers. In this
market, residents may choose to
purchase electricity from electric
companies at the standard service rate
or from electric suppliers at an electric
generation service rate that may be
variable.

The new law prohibits electric suppliers
from raising rates for the first three
billing cycles of new supplier contracts
entered into on or after July 1, 2014. It
also requires suppliers to notify

residential customers in advance of
certain rate changes and prohibits them
from charging cancelation or early
termination fees to residents who (1)
move within the state and do not
change suppliers or (2) lack a contract
with a supplier and receive month-to-
month variable rates. It decreases the
cap on such fees and requires electric
companies to switch a customer from a
supplier’s service to standard service
within 72 hours of the customer’s
request.

The new law prohibits and restricts
certain marketing practices of electric
suppliers and also requires the Public
Utilities Regulatory Authority (PURA) to
develop and implement additional
standards for certain practices,
including abusive switching practices,
telemarketing, door-to-door sales, and
the hiring and training of sales
representatives. It also requires (1)
electric companies and electric suppliers
to distribute certain rate information in
bills and mailings and (2) electric
suppliers to disclose information on
their highest and lowest rates charged
in the last year.

(sSB 2, effective upon passage, except
for the provisions (1) requiring supplier
disclosure of the highest and lowest
electric generator service rates and (2)
prohibiting suppliers from increasing
rates in the first three billing cycles,
which are effective July 1, 2014)
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Utility Tree Trimming

A new law makes several changes to
the process that telephone,
telecommunications, and electric
distribution companies (“utilities”) must
follow before conducting vegetation
management (pruning or removing any
trees or shrubs around their poles and
wires). Among other things, it:

1. requires a utility to obtain written
affirmative consent from a private
property owner before conducting
vegetation management on the
owner’s property;

2. expands the information a utility
must include in its notice to property
owners about proposed vegetation
management to include (a)
instructions on how to object and (b)
notice that a property owner may
suggest modifications to the utility’s
proposal;

3. places the burden of proof on a
utility if an abutting property owner
objects to its proposed vegetation
management and the case is
appealed to PURA; and

4. requires PURA to study, and
eventually allow, parties to mediate
their disputes over proposed
vegetation management before
PURA hears appeals over the
disputes.

(sHB 5408, effective upon passage)

ENVIRONMENT

Connecticut Resources Recovery
Authority Dissolution

The legislature passed a new law that
dissolves the Connecticut Resources
Recovery Authority and establishes the
Materials Innovation and Recycling
Authority (MIRA) as its successor. The
law revises the authority’s activities,
powers, and purposes and requires the
Department of Energy and
Environmental Protection (DEEP)
commissioner, with MIRA, to seek
proposals to redevelop the Connecticut
Solid Waste Management System
Project.

(sSB 357, 8§ 1, 3-8, 15, & 17 most
provisions are effective upon passage)

Fracking Waste Moratorium

A new law establishes a moratorium on
hydraulic fracturing waste in
Connecticut until the DEEP
commissioner adopts regulations to (1)
control it as a hazardous waste and (2)
impose certain licensing and information
disclosure requirements. The
moratorium applies to any person
accepting, receiving, collecting, storing,
treating, disposing, and transferring
between vehicles or modes of
transportation any hydraulic fracturing
waste. It also includes the sale,
manufacture, and distribution of de-
icing and dust suppression products
derived from or containing these
wastes.

(sSB 237, effective July 1, 2014)
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State Water Plan

A new law requires the state’s Water
Planning Council (WPC) to, within
available appropriations, prepare a state
water plan by July 1, 2017, replacing
the state’s long-range water resources
management plan, which was never
developed. It (1) prescribes the WPC's
tasks in developing the plan, (2)
establishes the plan’s required content,
(3) creates a procedure for public notice
and comment, and (4) requires the plan
to be submitted to the General
Assembly for review and approval.

(sHB 5424, most provisions take effect
July 1, 2014)

GOVERNMENT ADMINISTRATION

False Claims Act Expansion

A new law expands the Connecticut
False Claims Act to prohibit anyone
from knowingly filing false or fraudulent
claims for payment or approval under
any state-administered health or human
services programs, not just Department
of Social Services (DSS) medical
assistance programs. By law, the
attorney general is authorized to
investigate any alleged violations and a
person who violates the act must pay a
civil penalty and other fines.

(HB 5597, §8§ 1-18, effective upon
passage)

Judges’ Pensions

A new law reduces the pension benefit
for certain judges, family support
magistrates, and compensation
commissioners based on when they
took office and their years of state
service. For those officials who start
serving on or after July 1, 2014, and
retire with less than 10 years of state
service, the new law reduces pension
benefits by 10% for each year less than
10 years of service. The law also
prohibits any judge from receiving more
than one pension benefit as a result of
his or her employment with the state.

(HB 5597, § 252, effective upon
passage)

HEALTH SERVICES

APRN Independent Practice

A new law allows advanced practice
registered nurses (APRNs) to practice
independently if they have been
licensed and practicing in collaboration
with a physician for at least three years
and 2,000 hours. Under prior law,
APRNs had to work in collaboration with
a physician, including having a written
agreement regarding the APRN’s
prescriptive authority.

Among other changes affecting APRNs,
the legislature also passed laws
requiring (1) APRNs to meet certain
continuing education requirements and
(2) disclosures by certain medical
manufacturers who provide payments
or other transfers of value to APRNs.
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(PA_14-12, as amended by sHB 5537
and HB 5597, §8§ 75 and 158; the
independent practice provisions are
effective July 1, 2014)

Emergency Medical Services

A new law makes several changes
concerning emergency medical services
(EMS) and primary service area
responders (PSARs). It requires
municipalities to update their local EMS
plans as they determine necessary and
consult with their PSAR when doing so.
It requires DPH, at least every five
years, to review local EMS plans and
PSARs’ provision of services under
them, and to then rate the responders’
performance. A “failing” rating has
various consequences, including
possible removal as PSAR if the
responder fails to improve.

The new law makes changes to the
process for municipalities to petition for
a PSAR’s removal, including defining
what constitutes a “performance crisis”
or “unsatisfactory performance” for this
purpose. It requires municipalities
seeking a change in their PSARs for
specified reasons to submit to DPH
alternative local EMS plans and the
names of recommended replacements.

It also requires a PSAR to notify DPH
before selling its ownership interest or
assets, and requires the buyer to obtain
DPH’s approval.

(HB 5597, §8§ 19-22, effective October
1, 2014, except the provisions on PSAR
sales and buyer approval are effective
upon passage)

Hospitals, Health Care
Institutions, and Physician
Group Practices

A new law makes various changes
affecting transactions involving
hospitals and certain medical practices.
It allows for-profit hospitals and health
systems to organize and become
members of medical foundations;
existing law already allowed such
nonprofit entities to do so.

It makes certain changes affecting the
approval process for sales of nonprofit
hospitals to for-profit entities. For
example, it (1) requires an additional
public hearing earlier in the process and
(2) specifically allows the attorney
general and DPH commissioner to place
conditions on their approval of the
transaction.

It requires parties to transactions that
materially change the business or
corporate structure of a physician group
practice to notify the attorney general.
It also requires notice by parties to
transactions involving a hospital,
hospital group, or health care provider
that are subject to federal antitrust
review.

Among other changes affecting the
certificate of need (CON) process, it
requires a CON for a transfer of
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ownership of a group practice of eight
or more physicians to a hospital or
certain other health care entities.

(sSB 35, various effective dates)
HIGHER EDUCATION

Connecticut State University
System (CSUS) Funding

The bond act (1) authorizes $103.5
million in new bonding under the
Connecticut State University System
2020 infrastructure program, (2)
renames the program the Connecticut
State Colleges and Universities 2020
program, and (3) expands the program
to include the community colleges and
Charter Oak State College.

(sSB 29, effective July 1, 2014)

Go Back to Get Ahead

A new law establishes this program to
encourage Connecticut residents to
return to a higher education institution
and earn a degree, specifically those
who (1) dropped out of an associate’s
or bachelor’s degree program or (2)
received an associate’s degree and seek
to advance their educational
attainment.

Administered by the Board of Regents
for Higher Education, the program
allows eligible participants to receive up
to three free three-credit courses
required to complete an associate’s or
bachelor’s degree program. Eligible
students must not have attended any
college or university for at least 18

months, as of June 30, 2014, and must
enroll in a program at a CSUS
institution, a Connecticut community
college, or Charter Oak State College by
September 30, 2016.

(HB 5597, § 176, effective July 1,
2014)

Remedial Support

A new law increases the remedial
support the four CSUS institutions and
12 regional community-technical
colleges (CTCs) must offer to make
students college-ready. It requires
these institutions to offer a three-tiered
remediation system to eligible students
using supports and programs both
embedded in, and independent of,
required coursework. Remediation tiers
consist of embedded, intensive, and
transitional support.

Prior law prohibited CSUS and CTCs
from offering any remedial support to
eligible students beginning in fall 2014,
unless it was embedded support or part
of an intensive college readiness
program, with a maximum of one
semester of non-embedded support.
The new law instead requires CSUS and
CTCs to provide support under the
tiered system.

The new law delays, from fall 2014 to
fall 2015, the requirement that CTCs

provide embedded remedial support in
entry-level classes. Under prior law,

both CTCs and CSUS would have been
required to provide embedded support
beginning fall 2014. The new law also
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requires both CSUS and CTCs to provide
intensive and transitional remedial
support beginning in fall 2015.

(HB 5597, § 209, effective July 1,
2014)

Sexual Assault and Violence on
Campus

Existing law requires public and
independent higher education
institutions to adopt and disclose one or
more policies on sexual assault and
intimate partner violence. Institutions
must also offer sexual assault and
intimate partner violence primary
prevention and awareness programming
and campaigns.

A new law expands the scope of these
policies and programs by requiring (1)
for-profit institutions licensed to operate
in Connecticut to comply with them and
(2) the policies and programs to
address (a) stalking and (b) conduct
aimed at the institutions’ employees. It
also requires all institutions (public,
independent, and for-profit), after a
reported incident, to immediately
provide concise written notification to
each victim regarding his or her rights
and options under the institution’s
policy or policies.

The new law also requires all higher
education institutions to:

1. report annually to the Higher
Education and Employment
Advancement Committee concerning
their policies, prevention and
awareness programming, and

campaigns, and the number of
incidents and disciplinary cases
involving sexual assault, stalking,
and intimate partner violence;

2. establish a campus resource team to
review their policies and recommend
protocols for providing support and
services to students and employees
who report being victims; and

3. enter into a memorandum of
understanding with at least one
community-based sexual assault
crisis service center and one
community-based domestic violence
agency.

(PA 14-11, effective July 1, 2014)

HOUSING

Renter’s Rebate Program

A law enacted during the 2013 session
suspended the renter’s rebate program
by closing it to applicants who (1) did
not receive a rebate in calendar year
2011 or (2) received a rebate in
calendar year 2011, but not in a
subsequent year.

A new law lifts the suspension and re-
opens the program to new applicants.
The renters’ rebate program provides
partial rent and utility rebates to low-
income elderly and people with total
and permanent disabilities.

(HB 5597, §8§ 48-54 & 258, effective
upon passage and applicable to rebate
applications made on or after April 1,
2014)
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INSURANCE

Breast Ultrasound Copayment

A new law prohibits health insurance
policies from imposing a copayment of
more than $20 for a breast ultrasound
screening for which the policies are
required to provide coverage. By law,
policies must cover a breast ultrasound
screening if a (1) mammogram shows
dense breast tissue or (2) woman is at
an increased risk for breast cancer.

(sSB 10, effective January 1, 2015)

Long-Term Care Premium
Increases

A new law requires long-term care
(LTC) insurance policy issuers (carriers)
to spread premium rate increases of
20% or more over at least three years.
It also requires LTC carriers to notify
individual policyholders and group
certificate holders of (1) a premium rate
increase and (2) the option of reducing
benefits to reduce the premium rate.

(PA_14-10, effective October 1, 2014)

Property and Casualty Insurance

This new law makes changes to
property and casualty insurance laws.
Among other things, it:

1. bars insurers from refusing to issue
or renew a homeowners’ policy
solely because the insured failed to
(a) install any type of storm shutters
on a residential dwelling, rather than
just permanent shutters, or (b) have
storm shutters on the premises of
the dwelling;

2. extends the deadline for filing a suit
or action to recover a claim under a
standard fire insurance policy from
18 to 24 months after a loss; and

3. allows certain insurers to provide
flood insurance on a less-than-
statewide basis.

(sHB 5502, various effective dates)
MUNICIPALITIES

Revaluation Delay

A new law, among other things,
authorizes municipalities to delay a
revaluation scheduled to be
implemented in the 2013 or 2014
assessment year until, at the latest, the
2015 assessment year. It allows a
similar delay for municipalities phasing
in assessment increases from an earlier
revaluation.

(PA 14-19, effective upon passage)
PUBLIC SAFETY

Tasers

A new law requires the Police Officer
Standards and Training Council (POST),
by January 1, 2015, to develop and
promulgate a model policy that provides
guidelines on the use of electronic
defense weapons by police officers. It
requires the State Police and local police
departments that authorize police
officers to use such weapons to (1)
adopt and maintain a written policy, by
January 31, 2015, that meets or
exceeds the model policy and (2)
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require officers to document their use of
the weapons. It requires agencies that
authorize the use of the weapons to
report specified data on their use to
OPM annually, and OPM to post the data
on its web site. Agencies that do not
authorize the use of the weapons must
inform OPM annually of their policy.

(sHB 5389, effective October 1, 2014
for POST to develop its policy and
standardized reporting form; January 1,
2015 for the remaining provisions)

SOCIAL SERVICES

DSS Administrative Hearings

A new law makes several changes to
the procedures DSS must follow when
conducting an administrative hearing for
an appeal of a department decision,
including (1) allowing more people to
request a hearing and making it easier
for them to do so and (2) broadening
the circumstances in which the
aggrieved person may be excused from
appearing personally at the hearing.

Under the new law, if DSS hears a
contested case and has an adverse
interest to any party in the proceeding,
the hearing officer cannot communicate
directly or indirectly with any other DSS
employee, including counsel, about any
issue of fact or law in the hearing
without advance notice and opportunity
for all parties to participate on the
record.

(sSB 410, effective October 1, 2014).

Medicaid Estate Recovery

The state has a claim against the
estates of former public assistance
recipients, including Medicaid recipients,
to recover the cost of assistance
provided. A new law exempts from this
provision, to the extent federal law
allows, Medicaid recipients in the
Medicaid Coverage for the Lowest
Income Populations (MCLIP) program.
The exemption applies to services
provided on or after January 1, 2014.

For this population, federal law requires
states to recover costs from the estates
of Medicaid recipients who, at age 55 or
older, received (1) nursing facility
services, (2) home- and community-
based services, or (3) related hospital
and prescription drug services. Federal
law allows states to recover any other
services under the state Medicaid plan,
except for services related to Medicare
cost-sharing.

(HB 5597 § 76, effective upon
passage)

Medicaid Provider Audits

A new law makes several changes to
DSS processes for auditing Medicaid
providers and facilities that receive
Medicaid or other state payments.
Principally, it (1) limits the
circumstances in which DSS may
extrapolate audited claims and (2)
allows an audited provider or facility to
present evidence to the commissioner
or an auditor to refute the audit’s
findings. For auditing purposes, it also
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requires DSS and DSS-contracted
auditors to have on staff or consult
with, as needed, health care providers
experienced in relevant treatment,
billing, and coding procedures.

(sHB 5500, effective July 1, 2014)

Nursing Home Transparency

By law, every for-profit chronic and
convalescent nursing home that
receives state funding must submit a
cost report to DSS annually. A new law
requires them to include with the new
report the most recent finalized annual
profit and loss statement from any
related party that receives $50,000 or
more for providing goods, fees, and
services to the nursing home.

The new law defines “related party” to
include companies related to the
nursing home through a family
association (i.e., a relationship by birth,
marriage, or domestic partnership) or
through common ownership, control, or
business association with any of the
owners, operators, or officials of the
nursing home.

It also (1) prohibits anyone from
bringing legal action against the state,
DSS, or state employees or agents for
not taking action as a result of
information obtained by DSS in cost
reports and (2) requires the Nursing
Home Financial Advisory Committee to
convene by August 1, 2014.

(PA_14-55, effective July 1, 2014,
except for the advisory committee
provisions, which are effective upon
passage)

TRANSPORTATION

Connecticut Port Authority

A new law creates a Connecticut Port
Authority to coordinate the
development and marketing of state
ports, including the three deep water
ports of Bridgeport, New Haven, and
New London. At the same time, it
creates a Port Authority Working Group
to make recommendations to DECD on
the port authority’s powers and duties.

It requires the DECD commissioner,
after consulting with specified agencies,
and within available appropriations, to
(1) develop a plan to move the
Connecticut Maritime Commission and
DOT’s maritime functions to the
authority and (2) review and make
recommendations for state policies
affecting the ports.

(sHB 5289, effective on passage
except the provisions on the port
authority are effective October 1, 2015)

Fines for Harming a Vulnerable
User of a Public Way

This law creates a separate violation for
a motorist travelling on a public way
who fails to exercise reasonable care
and seriously injures or causes the
death of a vulnerable user (e.g.,
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pedestrian, highway worker, cyclist).
Any motorist charged with such a
violation must be fined up to $1,000.

(PA 14-31, effective October 14, 2014)

VETERANS AND SERVICE
MEMBERS

Military Occupational Specialty
Taskforce

A new law requires various
governmental entities to certify, waive,
grant, or award certain licenses,
registrations, examinations, training, or
credit for veterans or armed forces or
National Guard members with military
experience or qualifications similar to
those otherwise required. For example,
for qualified service members, the new
law requires the (1) Police Officer
Standards and Training Council to
certify them as police officers and (2)
Department of Emergency Services and
Public Protection to waive security
guard training.

(sHB 5299, most provisions effective
October 1, 2014)
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